The "European Legal Practice Integrated Studies" (ELPIS) programme, which is functioning within the ERASMUS programme, is a supplementary course of study that aims at enhancing the student's knowledge acquired during his standard studies leading to a national law degree. The participants receive training in European and Comparative Law, as well as in the legal systems of different EU countries. It is supposed to prepare the future lawyers for a trans-national legal practice in the Common Market.

The program addresses advanced students with at least two years of successful studies in a university in the EU or EFTA. The candidates should have a working knowledge of their own legal system and on that basis be able to enlarge their legal horizon at one of the partner universities under a foreign jurisdiction.

The participants are supposed to acquire soft skills particularly needed in the growing Common Market: a sense for different ways of legal thinking and legal argument, the skill of finding and understanding foreign sources of law as well as the ability to link rules of different legal systems and institutional backgrounds in the context of the Law of the European Institutions

After the successful completion of their studies, the participants are awarded with the special academic degree “Magister legum Europae” (MLE).

More detailed information about ELPIS can be found on www.elpis-eu.org.

On the occasion of the XXXVIII ELPIS-Conference, which was held at the „Leibniz” – University of Hannover, Germany, on June 19 and 20, 2009, and chaired by the President of ELPIS, Prof. Dr. Bernd H. Oppermann of the Law Faculty of the „Leibniz” – University, the Faculty of Law of the University of Bucharest has become the 32nd  ELPIS-member. The ELPIS member-group counts presently universities of twenty-four EU – countries: Universität Wien, Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Université Miséricorde de Fribourg, Charles University in Prague, Universität Hannover, Universität Leipzig, Københavns Universitet, Universidad Complutense de Madrid, Universidad de Zaragoza, University of Turku, Université de Cergy-Pontoise, Université de Rouen, Université du Havre, University of Durham, University of Nottingham, University of Strathclyde (Glasgow), Panteion University of Social and Political Sciences (Athens), National and Capodistrian University of Athens, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Eötvös Loránd University (Budapest), University College Dublin, University of Iceland (Reykjavík), Università degli Studi di Roma "La Sapienza", Mykolas Romeris University (Vilnius), Msida University of Malta, Rijksuniversiteit Groningen, University of Oslo, Maria Curie-Sklodowska University (Lublin), Universidade Católica Portuguesa (Lisboa), Stockholm University, Bratislava University and, recently, the University of Bucharest.

ELPIS Annual Meeting, 2013, hosted by the Faculty of Law, University of Bucharest - Romania